Author Topic: Comments/Questions  (Read 1817 times)

anog

• View Profile
Comments/Questions
« on: March 01, 2014, 01:38:01 PM »
First, I really want to say this is an excellent book.  I've been running Mac's for 20 years (in my home), used Windows Home Server for several years, them Mac OS X Server for at least one year. 

Anyway, I have my server at home as a hobby more than real business. I'd like to use it as a web server and learning experience. I have 5 PCs, 4 Macs, iPads, iPhones, and server is great for storing files and managing everything.  I'd also like to say that Open Directory and DNS problems have caused the need for MANY clean reinstalls.

I have other Mavericks Books, one even from Apple, and they are bad. Very basic and ignoring many issues. Your book is FANTASTIC, but if anything, maybe slightly a bit too far in the Enterprise direction, but that is O.K.

Like another reader, I was a bit confused on the IP addressing, and I understand that even if you have several fixed IP addresses, you keep inside addresses different. I understand DCHP, and DNS inside, but how it connects to the big world is something sometimes glossed over.

I also was a bit confused by SSL certificates. You say buy a cheap one with your server name of server.domain.com, BUT what if I want a web server?  I have discovered that www.domain.com DOES NOT match server.domain.com.  I do want to run a for-fun web site, so I also purchased another SSL with "domain.com" which also works with www.domain.com, but NOT server.domain.com.  Maybe in the future, a more in-depth discussion of SSL certificates is in order, or if you could recommend a book?  Even server alone uses "intermediate" certificates and code-signing certificates, and this can get confusing. I really have no idea if they are working or installed correctly.

Anyway, great book, and I will be looking for the next one. These are SO needed.

Reid Bundonis

• Administrator
    • View Profile
Re: Comments/Questions